HOW TO BECOME A BEAUTY & FASHION BLOGGER? my tips on how to start a blog

Hello babes!

Today’s post is a little bit different from my typical beauty and fashion info. I decided to share with you my top tips on starting a beauty and fashion blog. Now, I’ve only been blogging for a little over a month, so I wouldn’t really consider myself an expert in this field just yet, but I do believe that I have successfully started a blog, which is growing every single day, both in quality and quantity. Before I started myself, I read so many of these guides and they all seemed pretty similar – blog about what you love, find your niche, be consistent, etc. While I do realize that these things are incredibly important, I decided to create my own list and only share the stuff that has worked for me personally! Let’s call it Kris’s take on blogging tips!

1. Haters gonna hate!
It has always been a wish of mine to start doing this, but a part of me was always scared about what other people would think. A couple of weeks ago, I realized that others don’t matter, they truly don’t! You should start a blog because that’s what you want, because it’s a passion of yours. You can’t let other people dictate your life because at the end of the day, you’ll always have other people judging you no matter what you do.

2. Great content and aesthetically pleasing photos will take you places!
There is a lot of competition in the beauty and fashion industry, so content is key! If you blog about the things you truly love, I’m sure your content will be wonderful. Still, you have to worry about so much more – your blog layout, the photography, consistency, etc. It may seem unfair, but in 2017, your blog needs to be visually pleasing in order to be read. Great content without photos, or, even worse, with low quality photos, will not bring you success. Sometimes, people only look at pictures. It’s unfortunate, but it’s true. I either use my iPhone or my Nikon Coolpix for taking photos and I think that they’re good enough! If you struggle with photo layouts and flat lays, try to visit other blogs for inspo. Never copy any content, though!

3. It may sound like a good post idea, but that doesn’t mean it’s actually appropriate for your blog!
Your blog should not be filled with random posts! I know you hate to hear that because you probably have so many ideas for posts that range from beauty to fashion, food and travels, but you have to stay selective when choosing what you’ll write about. I personally like blogs that stay focused, seeing a bunch of miscellaneous posts makes me not want to read them! Same goes for sponsored content – you shouldn’t accept every single offer! A few days ago, I was sent a couple of emails asking for a collab and while I was flattered because I didn’t expect anyone to contact me so quickly, I ended up turning all of them down because they didn’t really fit my theme. In the beginning, income should not be your priority!

4. NOW is the time to do it!
From what I’ve read and researched, blogs are not read as much as they used to be due to other social media platforms. There are a lot of blogs out there that are super successful, so if you really want to begin blogging, you should do it now! No excuses! The sooner you start, the more time you’ll have to establish a stable community and develop a well read blog.

5. Engagement is key!
You can’t just start a blog and think that people will find it and read it, it doesn’t go like that! You have to put yourself out there. My top tip would be to comment on your favorite bloggers’ posts and let them know you have a blog. Don’t spam, though! You have to actually read their posts and leave meaningful comments. This is something that pretty much all the bloggers do, though they may not admit it. If someone stops by your blog and leaves a comment in return, you should be nice and reply. Whenever I visit other people’s blogs and see that they don’t respond to comments, I get the impression that they don’t even try to communicate with their audience. It may not be like that, but that’s how they come across.

6. Set goals to stay motivated!
I’m not saying you should blog to reach a particular goal or to get sent free products, but I do believe that you should set small goals in order to stay motivated. Make a posting schedule and try to stick to it, try to respond to everyone’s comments, keep up with all the new posts that appear in your reader. When it comes to blogging, it’s important to stay on top of things – you should be consistent with your posts and you should try to communicate with your audience on a daily basis.

7. Be proud of every single achievement, no matter big or small!
Whenever you achieve a particular goal, you should reward yourself or at least acknowledge the fact that you’ve managed to achieve it! When I reached 100 followers, I did a whole post about it and I organized a giveaway. Whenever I post a great picture on my Instagram or see a post performing well, I feel proud of myself. I’ve always wanted to blog, it’s always been a dream of mine, so I’m ready to work hard to see the results and whenever I do see them, I’m more than happy.

8. Social media! It’s 2017!
Who doesn’t use social media nowadays? It’s crucial to establish profiles on other platforms to communicate with your audience and promote your blog. I decided to start with Instagram because it’s the most popular right now and I genuinely love using it, but you might choose other ones, such as Twitter, Pinterest or Facebook. Keep in mind that all these platforms will take a lot of your time and energy, so you have to think strategically when creating profiles. I’m trying to be really engaged with my Instagram – establishing a color theme, posting regularly and communicating with others. It sometimes takes more time than my blog, but I really do enjoy looking at photos and posting mine!

Wow, this list was longer than I anticipated! I still have a lot more tips, but these are the ones that I think are the most important when starting a blog. Remember, nobody’s born a professional blogger – it’s a journey that never really ends, you always learn new things and improve your work. Try to stay engaged, motivated and patient because you won’t be successful and famous after 10 posts. If you really enjoy the things you’re writing about and if you’re really inspired to become a great blogger, I’m sure you’ll work hard and do well! Also, always stay true to yourself and if you’re feeling down or you’re not really getting the attention you think your blog deserves, remember why you decided to start blogging in the first place! It takes time, but effort does eventually pay off!

I hope you enjoyed reading today’s post and will find some of my tips helpful. We’re so close to reaching 300 followers, how exciting is that?! Thank you SO MUCH for reading my blog and leaving all the sweet comments, it truly means a lot!

Lots of love,

xx Kris

 

214 thoughts on “HOW TO BECOME A BEAUTY & FASHION BLOGGER? my tips on how to start a blog

  1. I LOVED this post!! All you said is so true, and I can see it from the perspective of being a blogger. From my experience I know my least accessed posts are the ones with a random subject. Lots of love from Brazil!

    Like

  2. Thanks for all the tips! I’m a total beginner, though not in a fashion field. It’s always good to have some support from those who are already in front of you 🙂

    Wish you luck with the blog and I’d appreciate if you come by and see my place as well. Kisses! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

