SUMMER NIGHTS OUT MEAN SIMPLE AND SOFT SMOKEY EYES

Hey babes!

During the summer months, I tend to spend a lot of nights out with my family and friends. Because it’s usually super hot outside, I don’t really feel like putting a lot of time and effort into doing my hair and makeup. I always go for quick and simple looks that don’t require using much product, but I do still like to look all dolled up! The struggle is real! Today, I’ll be showing you how I create my go to soft smokey eye, which is the perfect combination of glam and simplicity – it’s summer appropriate, but it still feels a little extra!

For my base, I started off with MAC Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 foundation in #NC20, which gives a nice medium to full coverage. I like it because it blends easily and has a good lasting power! For a change, I applied it with my Real Techniques Stippling Brush, which I used to use it all the time before discovering my beloved Beauty Blender. If you use a brush, you’ll most likely end up using less product because it doesn’t absorb the way a sponge does, however, you’ll have to spend more time blending to get that natural finish! To give my face some dimension, I applied the YSL Touche Eclat in #2 under my eyes, on the bridge of my nose, on my chin and on my forehead.

For my bronzer, I decided to introduce a new one to my blog – it’s the YSL Golden Couture Contouring Palette. In the duo, I only ever use the bronzer, because the highlighter doesn’t seem to work with my skin – I think it’s a little to sheer and I prefer a bit heavier powders if I’m ever setting my under eye concealer (which I don’t tend to do often). The bronzer, however, is lovely and it doesn’t end up looking orange on the skin, which is a big bonus!

The most exciting part are definitely the eyes! In one of my recent posts, I mentioned that I’d love to feature my Urban Decay Naked2 Eyeshadow Palette in a beauty tutorial because so many of you have been debating whether or not to get it. I use it almost every single day, especially when I’m trying to create a brown smokey eye. The pigmentation of the shadows is amazing and they tend to last a long time on me. The palette itself comes with a brush, which I use all the time because it’s one of the rare brushes that come with the product and are actually good and worth using.

I mixed Verve and Suspect as my base color and applied them all over my lid. It gives a nice bronze tone to your eyes, which looks really natural and could even be worn on its own. Next, I applied Snakebite on the outer corner of my eyes to deepen the color a little, followed by Busted in my very outer corner and in my crease. I used a fluffy brush to blend everything and then applied Bootycall in my inner corners to highlight. Finally, I used Tease to fill in my brows and paired that with the Benefit Gimme Brow Volumizing Fiber Gel. I really like this gel because it not only combs through your brows and keeps them in place all day, but it also adds a subtle tint, which isn’t too dramatic. I totally need to get a new one, as they’ve changed the bottles since my last purchase!

On my cheeks, I’m wearing the Maybelline Colorama Blush in #501, which I’ve first tried in my SUMMER PARTY GRWM! hair, makeup and outfit post and ended up loving it! As for the highlighter, I decided to stick with the Benefit theme and use an old favorite – the Benefit Watt’s Up! Cream Highlighter. I used to use this stuff all the time before switching to powder highlighters. This one is still awesome, though. It looks natural, but it’s buildable! I kept the lips pretty simple because, as I’ve said before, I don’t really enjoy wearing a lot of product on my lips. I really like the L’Oreal Colour Caresse Wet Shine Stain in #102 Romy, which was unfortunately discontinued! It’s really light on the lips and the color isn’t too dramatic. You’ve probably started seeing a theme in my lip products, as all of them are a neutral shade and feel light on the lips, so if you want to find a dupe for this lip stain, just scroll through my blog posts to see which lip products I typically wear!

I adore falsies. Seriously, guys, it’s becoming a real problem! I just want to wear them all the time! I started testing out Eylure because I’ve heard amazing reviews on their lashes and I’ve never tried them before. I opted for the Cheryl Sexy Senorita, which will definitely add some drama to your eyes, but are still more on the natural side. I ended up throwing the box away, so I used a random white one for pics instead. I really liked these and I put them on using the glue that came with them, which was also awesome! Check them out if you’re looking for affordable and nice quality falsies! On my bottom lashes, I just popped some Lancome Grandiose Extreme mascara.

 

I hope you guys enjoyed reading this post! I had a lot of fun creating this and I hope you get inspired by this look! Do you like posts like these? Would you wear this kind of a brown smokey eye?

Lots of love,

xx Kris

188 thoughts on “SUMMER NIGHTS OUT MEAN SIMPLE AND SOFT SMOKEY EYES

  1. So pretty and soft look! I have Urban Decay Naked2 too and it’s such a good palette that I use almost every single time I do my eye makeup (even though some of the shades fall out so much ugh)! xx

    Like

  2. Wow those fake eyelashes look really good on you!! I tried Eylure eyelashes once but they weren’t as comfortable as others so.. :\

    Caterina | caterinasosso.com

    Like

  3. Yes the struggle is real with all this heat and humidity! This is soft but gorgeous look. I would never guess you were using this many products as you look so natural like you are wearing very little. Good job!

    Allie of ALLIENYC
    http://www.allienyc.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

