JULY FAVORITES! beauty, skincare, fragrance and books

Hey babes!

Wow. The fact that I’m sitting in my bedroom, writing my second favorites post, seems surreal. I’m really enjoying my time blogging and I genuinely hope you guys enjoy reading my posts. I can’t wait for all the exciting things that are yet to happen on my blogging journey and I’m incredibly grateful for all the lovely people I’ve met in the past month or so!

With July coming to an end, it’s time for me to share my monthly favorites. This month was full of diverse discoveries for me – I found some amazing drugstore beauty buys, some high end products, a perfect summer fragrance and a nice book to curl up with during my girly nights in.

1. China Glaze Nail Lacquer in #727 Sneaker Head

I was wearing this nail polish so much in July! The bright red makes any outfit pop. I love wearing bright colors on my nails during summer because they’re super fun! China Glaze makes lovely nail polishes – they have a great lasting power and they’re nicely pigmented. Also, I love how long and narrow the brush is, as it makes the application easy and quick!

2. Lush Rub Rub Rub Shower Scrub

Lush is one of my all time favorite brands when it comes to bath and body products. Their stuff is so girly and cute! This body scrub contains sea salt, so it makes me feel like I’m on the beach whenever I’m using it. It’s quite a dense exfoliator, so it’s very good at removing all those dead skin cells. It also moisturizes, so my skin really feels extremely silky after rinsing it off. It’s weird how it can exfoliate and moisturize so well at the same time, but it somehow does. According to Lush’s website, you could also use it as a shampoo, but I haven’t tried that yet!

3. Le Petit Marseillais Body Wash

I’ve only discovered these shower gels recently, but I really love them and have been using them all the time! They feel smooth on the skin and they lather up nicely, which is important to me when it comes to body wash. You’ve probably figured it out by now – I’m obsessed with foaming products. All of their stuff has an amazing smell, so no matter which shower gel you pick, you can’t go wrong!

4. Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Protective Sun Lotion and After Sun Hydrating Lotion

Okay guys, to be 100% honest, I don’t think I’ve ever used a better sunscreen. This stuff is seriously amazing – it smells great and it protects me very well. What I love the most about, though, is the fact that it doesn’t make my skin feel greasy at all. It really does feel like a hydrating lotion, just like the name suggests. I love matching my sunscreen with an after sun lotion and this one is worth the purchase! It cools and calms my skin down and I use it on a daily basis. Also, how cute is the packaging?!

5. Macadamia Healing Oil Treatment

I’m sure you’ve heard of this one before, since Macadamia is quite a popular hair brand. The oil is definitely my hair routine staple. I put it in my damp hair after washing it to make it feel silky smooth. It has an amazing scent and it makes a difference at how shiny your hair looks. I love this brand so much I use a lot of their products on and off – the curl cream, the hair mask, the shampoo and conditioner, etc. I haven’t replaced the oil for a couple of years, though. It’s awesome!

6. Hugo Boss Orange Woman

I like to change up the perfumes quite a lot and I’ve been wearing this fragrance so much recently! I love the scent because it’s really sweet and feminine. It has cinnamon, apple, vanilla and amber scents, which might scream winter to some of you, but I enjoy wearing it now just as much as I will in the colder months. It’s quite strong, so you don’t need a lot and it lasts long, which is always a plus!

7. Garnier BB Cream Miracle Skin Perfector 

This is the key product when it comes to my summer makeup routine. I use it all the time because it’s so light on the skin and it matches my skin tone really well! It literally takes seconds to apply and I just use my fingers to do so. It has quite an impressive coverage for the price tag! If you’re looking for a compromise between an actual foundation and a light moisturizer, make sure you check this one out! I bought it right when it came out, aka ages ago, because it received so much attention from the online beauty community and from what I can tell, it really is worth the hype!

8. YSL Fusion Ink Cushion Foundation

This foundation is definitely on the high end side, but I love wearing it in the summer because it’s light, just like the BB cream I’ve mentioned above. The cushion controls the amount of product you put on your face, while still providing coverage. It doesn’t feel heavy and it’s easily buildable. I find cushion foundations super innovative and I must admit I also kinda love this one because of the cool packaging!

9. Diorskin Nude Air Tan

I’m obsessed with this bronzer for multiple reasons. The shade Amber is a lovely match for my skin tone in the summer and I like how it adds a natural dimension to my face. It’s not too dramatic, but it’s definitely there. I like to apply it to the hollows of my cheeks and on my temples and I build it up quite well to get that sun kissed look. It has a nice pigmentation and it’s one of the rare bronzers I really really love.

10. Benefit Watt’s Up! Cream Highlighter

I’ve been reaching for cream highlighters a lot recently, as they somehow look more natural on my skin than powders do. I love this one in particular because you can blend it easily and it’s not super glittery. I guess I’m not really innovative with this pick, as everyone seems to love Watt’s Up! but hey, if you still haven’t tried it out, you totally have to!

11. The Secret by Rhonda Byrne

As my last monthly favorite, I’m sharing a book. Now, before I got this, I was quite skeptical because I don’t normally read books like these. I don’t really believe in the power of thought and all of that, but I was drawn to The Secret because so many people have recommended it to me. As I was reading it, I found the style to be a little exaggerated, but I did like the general idea behind it and I’ve learned a lot from it. The message that I’ve taken home is that your thoughts should always be focused on the things you want to achieve in the future and while I may not exactly think that the whole visualization concept works for me, I do agree on the fact that in order for you to feel good and achieve your goals, you need to be positive in life. It’s worth a read if you feel like you can sometimes be overwhelmed with negative thoughts and you need a little motivation!

I hope you guys enjoyed reading about my monthly favorites! Let me know in the comments whether you’ve tried and liked any of these!

As always, lots of love,

xx Kris

221 thoughts on “JULY FAVORITES! beauty, skincare, fragrance and books

  1. I really like Rub Rub Rub, the way it looks always reminds me of Slush Puppie! I’ve used it as a shampoo in the past and I found it’s better to use it once in a while to get rid of build up, or the salt gets quite drying xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

