HOW I (OVER)PACK MY CARRY-ON LUGGAGE! weekend getaway edition

Hey babes!

If there’s one thing I’m really good at, it’s overpacking. Okay, that and shopping. Apparently, I’m a lot more talented than I’ve ever thought! Anyway, I always say that I tend to travel frequently and throughout the years of going different places, I’ve learnt some packing tips and tricks. Though I still do struggle with overpacking from time to time, I think I’ve become a lot more skilled at taking just the right amount of stuff.

In today’s post, I decided to show you how I pack my carry-on luggage for a weekend getaway. If I’m going on a super short trip which includes airplane transport, I usually won’t bring my checked luggage. It’s so much easier to travel with carry-on baggage because it’s lighter and it saves you time! I’ve never been a fan, actually, until I’ve recently discovered how stress free small bags are!

1. Travel sized beauty products are your best friends
I always keep a stock of these in my beauty cabinet because they’re a life saver when you’re trying to pack your beauty bag. You can get them pretty much everywhere, especially at checkout. You can also ask for samples whenever you’re buying beauty products and save them for upcoming trips. They’ll save you a lot of space and they’ll pass the security check. Plus, how cute are all the mini versions of your products?!

2. Think of all the possible things you could do
Pack your outfits according to the planned activities. Bring a bikini if you’re going to spend your weekend at the beach or a pair of sneakers if you’re going hiking. Remember to always bring something warm. During my recent Maldives trip, I got a slight fever one evening and even though it wasn’t cold outside, I felt super cold and had to wear a hoodie to the restaurant. Though these situations are highly hypothetical, you don’t want to be freezing outside!

3. Less is more
When packing a carry on, you should have a minimalist approach. You probably don’t need 5 pairs of shoes, in fact, I stick to number 3 if I’m going somewhere for the weekend. I bring a pair of flip flops, a pair of sneakers/converse and a pair of fancier sandals. Clothing wise, I bring 1-2 items of a kind, not more. You won’t end up wearing 4 dresses and 5 tees if you’re only away Friday-Sunday.

4. Accessorize wiselyΒ 
Stick to neutral bags and shoes, so that you can combine them with all the outfits. As for jewelry, bring only the pieces that you’ll actually wear. I like to keep mine in a small pouch so that they doesn’t get lost. I usually pack a necklace, a bracelet, a watch and a pair of earrings.

5. Wear layers and bring a large bag
Airplanes can be really cold because of the air conditioning. I’ll wear jeans and a cardigan even when it’s boiling hot outside because nothing can be worse than being cold on a plane with no blankets. Also, bring a big handbag because trust me, you’ll need that extra space. I always end up buying stuff in the duty free or buying a water bottle and keeping it in my purse. Large totes and planes are your go to combo!

I hope you guys found my post useful and interesting to read! What are your top traveling tips? Do you like only bringing carry-on luggage? Let me know in the comments below!

Lots of love,

xx Kris

 

138 thoughts on “HOW I (OVER)PACK MY CARRY-ON LUGGAGE! weekend getaway edition

  1. I just love this type of posts and I always try to get my packing skills on a higher level. Yes, bringing a carry-on is much better and that way you actually bring only what you really need. That means you need a tote bag too becuase let’s be honest, we do need that extra space πŸ˜€ I’m always cold so somewthing warm is a must for me as well… Such a great post! I really enjoyed it! πŸ™‚

    fashionabejita.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

