AUGUST FAVORITES! beauty, scent & lifestyle

This post contains a sponsored link. 

Hello babes!

Summer’s coming to an end and I couldn’t be more excited for fall! It’s my absolute favorite season because my birthday is in October, the fashion gets exciting with all the layers and boots, the weather is perfect – not too cold, yet still a little chilly, and we get to drink all the yummy drinks. Let’s face it, life just gets better in fall. Since August is officially over, I thought I’d share with you my favorite products of the past month. To be quite honest, I haven’t discovered that many new things, so this list will be a rather short one and I’m sure September will be a lot more exciting! Still, there are a couple of products that I’d like to share, so let’s get started!

As for my base, I’ve pretty much only been using the Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation. I think it’s great, as it’s affordable, has very buildable coverage, a nice lasting power and it looks natural on the skin. It would make a nice back to school makeup staple because you can just put a few small pumps on a stippling brush and buff it into your skin – it’s super quick and mess-free. I pair my foundation with another great basic, the YSL Touche Eclat Face Higlighter Pen. I know I’ve been raving about this product for months, but guys, it’s an awesome product. It helps bring light and dimension to your face without it looking cakey on the skin. I put it under my eyes, on my forehead, down the bridge of my nose and on my chin to highlight the high points of my face.

My skin has been really dry lately, so Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate has been helping me moisturize properly. I’ve come to the point where I’ve been using it in the morning, not just at night, and while I do realize that it might be too ‘oily’ for a lot of people, it works well for me. It preps the skin for foundation, as it adds a nice, healthy glow.  You can obviously use the Kiehl’s Daily Reviving Concentrate in the morning if the night version is too heavy for you, which is what I do when my skin feels and looks normal. This summer, I usually didn’t bother to put on actual perfume, I just used a body mist. There’s something about the Victoria’s Secret Blush Fragrance Mist that I just love and can’t get enough of – it’s a really floral and feminine scent and I don’t think I’ve ever come across a fragrance that is so well described by its name, Blush. I get so many compliments whenever I wear it and I like to reapply it throughout the day because mists tend to have a weaker staying power than regular perfumes.

I’ve been slowly transitioning into fall with my makeup looks so I started opting for deeper lip colors. The Dior Rouge* in Samarcande Brown #434 is a perfect berry shade with a lovely creamy texture, which looks super natural. On my nails, I’ve been wearing Ballet Slippers by Essie a crazy lot. It’s one of my all time favorite nail polishes not only because it’s that perfect soft, girly pink shade, but also because it goes with literally any outfit. Last, but certainly not least is a pretty random discovery. I’ve been adding vanilla bean extract to my coffee and it gets me into a serious fall spirit. I think the taste is really appropriate for this time of the year. I love waking up to a chilly morning and making my first cup of coffee. It feels so relaxing and I can’t imagine my mornings without it, as I’m coffee addicted.

That would be it for my August favorites! Some of the things I’ve already tested and loved, while some are more recent discoveries. I hope you guys enjoyed reading this post and stay tuned for more back to school and fall inspired posts because they’re coming your way soon! As for now, let me know in the comments below whether you’ve tried any of the products I mentioned today!

As always, lots of love,

xx Kris

*The link is sponsored, yet not affiliate. I teamed up with a fashion website to enable you to discover items on their site. All opinions are my own.

117 thoughts on “AUGUST FAVORITES! beauty, scent & lifestyle

  1. I have a gift card to VS, I should order some of that Blush fragrance. I also love Essie’s ballet slippers. And, I need to get that fall lip color!

    Carrie
    curlycraftymom.com

    Like

  2. This has been a great summer for me, but I’m excited for Fall as well. That nail polish looks pretty, but I honestly wouldn’t have known it was pink if you hadn’t said so. I thought it was white. lol

    Like

  3. Fall is also my favourite time of year. Who doesn’t love the fact the coffee shops bring out the best kind of drinks. Or that we get to be cosy in our wooly jumpers and carve pumpkins!?

    I also love YSL! Fab post (:

    Alys / alysgeorge.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

  4. I love the sound of the Victoria’s Secret body spray. I used to have Love Spell and it was gorgeous! I’m currently trying to use up some of my scents;. Once I’ve got a smaller collection, I’ll be investing in some Victoria’s Secret sprays for every day and will definitely be checking Blush out. Xx

    Tania | When Tania Talks

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The YSL Touche Eclat is a favorite of mine as well, it’s wonderful for highlighting without making my skin super shimmery. The Dior Rouge shade is gorgeous, I’ve been looking to add some darker shades to my collection for the fall so I’ll check this one out!

    Jenny | Geeky Posh

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Essie’s Ballet Slippers definitely does go with everything, which is always a good thing! And I’m glad to hear the new Healthy Mix formula is working for you. I tried it ages ago with the old formula and found it broke up on my skin halfway through the day, but I absolutely love the Healthy Mix serum, so there you go!

    littlehenrylee.net

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

