FRESH & GLOWY! my 5 minute back to school makeup look

Hello babes!

Even though I’m not off to college just yet, it is back to school season, which means comfy outfits and simple makeup looks. I’m a morning person and I love waking up early, but I don’t really like spending much time doing my makeup for school. With that being said, I’ve perfected a natural look that can be achieved in 5 minutes. Besides it looking effortless and fresh, it also features mostly drugstore products, which means I’ll show you how to look cute on a budget!

f64ea026-15ff-4e2d-9132-1fd07078a706

ALL ABOUT THAT BASE.


Whenever you’re going for dewy skin, you have to make sure it’s moisturized. Oils give me the optimal base, so I always start with my Kiehl’s Daily Reviving Concentrate. Skin prep is key and I didn’t realize that for a long period of time. You can’t achieve a healthy and glowy look if your skin is dry at the very base.

Let your imperfections be seen. It’s no secret I like using my Bourjois Healthy Mix foundation and I think it’s a perfect pick for this look because it blends easily and gives a medium coverage. The key is not to try to cover up every single spot on your face. Trust me, you’ll end up looking a lot more natural.

School means lack of sleep. And lack of sleep means dark circles. I cover up mine using the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer, which brightens my under eye area and gives my face some dimension. Go for a shade lighter than your natural skin tone to achieve the best results and blend it with your fingers.

ADDING SOME COLOR.


3 is the magic number. Apply a light bronzer, such as Benefit Hoola Lite to your forehead, the hollows of your cheeks and jawline using a large, dense brush. Strokes in the shape of a “3” will give the natural contour without looking too dramatic because let’s face it, ain’t nobody got time for baking and cream contouring before hitting classes!

Multipurpose products are your life saver. Maybelline Baby Lips is probably the cutest lip balm range I’ve ever owned, but I don’t just use these on my lips. Dab some onto your cheeks for a natural flush and blend with your fingers. Then, apply that same shade on your lips for a subtle berry tint.

Cream highlighter steals the show. Use cream rather than powder if you’re going for the natural, fresh look. I apply my Benefit Watt’s Up using my fingers because the warmth of the fingers helps melt the product and makes it sink into the skin. I apply it to my cheekbones, the bridge of my nose, the inner corners of my eyes and my cupid’s bow. The more, the better.

MAKE YOUR EYES POP!


Putting on eyeshadow takes long and can get pretty messy, so I don’t usually wear it. I just stick to the Essence I Love Extreme Volume Waterproof Mascara, which is my absolute favorite drugstore mascara. It makes your lashes really long and voluminous and I can’t believe it works so well considering its price tag – it’s much better than most of my high end mascaras. You NEED to check it out!!!

I hope you guys liked today’s look! It’s simple and perfect for days when you don’t want to be wearing too much makeup. Personally, this is one of my favorite everyday looks because of the glowy skin. We all like to look fresh and healthy, don’t we? What’s your back to school makeup routine? Have you tried any of these products? Let me know in the comments below!

Lots of love,

 

xx Kris

93 thoughts on “FRESH & GLOWY! my 5 minute back to school makeup look

  1. Kris you are beautiful! I am now in my 30s so it’s all about the base for me now, I needs lots of moisturisation, we have a Kiel’s here in Dubai, so I’ll check out the reviving concentrate! Have a fantastic day 😊x

    Like

  2. That’s a very nice post and pictures and you look very beautiful! I also use the Maybelline corrector, the Bourjois foundation and Benefit illuminizer! I like natural looks! Sorry I haven’t been here earlier, but I was writing a lot for the uni 🙂 Hope you have a lovely weekend!
    DenisesPlanet.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

